Diablo IV Confirms Necromancer and 2023 Release Date

Blizzard Entertainment unveils the fifth playable class in Diablo IV.

Blizzard Entertainment has unveiled the Necromancer as the fifth playable class in the highly-anticipated upcoming action RPG, Diablo IV. In addition to the class announcement, we finally got a general Diablo IV release date, and it looks like the game is only about a year away.

The next-gen installment of the genre-defining hack and slash game debuts in 2023 and will be coming to Xbox Series X/S and PlayStation 5 alongside the PC, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4. Additionally, there will be cross-play and cross-progression support enabled on all platforms. Console players can also hack through the demons of hell with a friend via couch co-op.

Here’s a look at the Diablo IV Developer Gameplay Showcase:

First Look at the Diablo IV Necromancer

As a Priest of Rathma, known by outsiders as a Necromancer—the word death evokes a sensation of power, potentially even excitement when it graces their ear. These legendary summoners bend blood, bone, and darkness to their will, and subjugate the ranks of the undead to carry out their bidding. Unknowing adversaries who pick a fight with this death-defying class will quickly learn they’ve made a grave mistake, for they are darkness in its wake.

We have a casket-full of news to share with you around how the Necromancer class will decimate and reanimate demons in Diablo IV. Take a gander at our June 2022 Diablo IV Quarterly Update blog coming out tomorrow at 10 a.m. PDT to learn more about the class’s new mechanics, such as the Book of the Dead, with Lead Class Designer, Adam Jackson.

Diablo Development Blog

Character Customization in Diablo IV

We also got a look at some of Diablo IV’s character customization options. Whether you choose to play as a Barbarian, Druid, Necromancer, Rogue, or Sorceress, you will be able to choose from a wide array of customization options. It’s not just aesthetics either, as the game’s in-depth skill trees allow for more ways to customize each player’s character.

Social Systems in Diablo IV

Diablo IV was always a game that could be enjoyed in a party of other players. The new social systems allow players to team up in combat to tackle both PvE and PvP elements of the game. The party-forming experience is totally new and rebuilt, making it easier than ever before for players on any platform to team up.

A specific area of Sanctuary, Fields of Hatred, is a dedicated PvP zone. Mark yourself hostile and take on any player willing to put their skills to the test. Take down your opponents, and you’ll be rewarded with spoils.

End Game in Diablo IV

Diablo’s endgame has always been what keeps players coming back for more. It’s often said that Diablo doesn’t actually begin until you reach max level, and the tradition carries forward into the latest installment of the game. Upon reaching the endgame, players can take on Nightmare Dungeons, which are dungeons with more powerful enemies that have added affixes. 

Or you can try out the Tree of Whispers, a system with an ever-changing set of world objectives and bounties that offer players the opportunity to pick up some Legendary gear, experience, materials, and more.

Like in previous games, once you reach max level, it’s time to grind those paragon levels. The Paragon Board unlocks at max level and includes hundreds of optional paths to further customize your hero’s build.

press release on the Activision Investors website details more about today’s announcement.

More details on Diablo IV are coming soon, so stay tuned to the official Diablo IV blog and Twitter for more updates. Tune into our Diablo section as well, as we’ll be covering all the events leading up to the game’s release.