How to Unlock World Tier 3 in Diablo 4

Here's how to unlock World Tier 3 in Diablo 4, and what changes you can expect in this Difficulty.

Diablo 4 has four difficulties on launch, which can be changed in-game at the World Tier Statue in Kyovashad. Our guide on which world tier to use for leveling will explain how these work. If you’re looking to unlock Nightmare difficulty, also known as World Tier 3, our guide below will help explain what you need to do.

How to Unlock World Tier 3 in Diablo 4

To unlock World Tier 3 in Diablo 4, you need to finish the main story campaign, change the difficulty to Veteran, and complete the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon. The Capstone Dungeon, located in the Cathedral of Light in northern Kyovashad, is a special dungeon that tests a player’s power and skill. 

Diablo 4 World Tier 3 Capstone Dungeon

We recommend completing the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon at around Level 50. However, you can likely complete this a few levels shy of Level 50 if you have a strong enough build and gear. If you are having trouble in the Capstone Dungeon, we recommend farming more gear and ensuring you have useful aspects on all your equipment.

What changes in World Tier 3 in Diablo 4?

World Tier 3 is recommended for players Levels 50 to 70. The difficulty features new Sacred items and Unique items. Nightmare Sigils can also drop, which unseals Nightmare Dungeons. Helltides can also appear in World Tier 3, which is an endgame activity that is a great way to farm for Sacred items. 

Diablo 4 World Tier 3

Enemies in World Tier 3 are more difficult, which means they have more health and output more damage. Monsters also give 100% more experience and drop 15% more Gold. Hardcore players will want to ensure their resistances and armor are up to snuff for World Tier 3, especially when first entering the difficulty.

You can check out our guide on how to unlock World Tier 4 in Diablo 4 if you’re all done with World Tier 3 and looking to move on to a more challenging difficulty. Check our Diablo 4 section for more guides and content.